Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 2nd, 2009

Harry in the Window

I took this photo in my bedroom yesterday. Love this cat.

Harry in window

Read Full Post »

Like an Old Friend

‘Tis many a moon since last I saw ye. But I have returned to claim my rightful place.

Oops. I guess my new resolve to post daily didn’t last very long. I think I needed the break. I read two books in the meantime and have been thinking of new story ideas, so it wasn’t a total wash. Now, though, I find myself at a total lack for words or ideas for new blog posts. I know it may come as a surprise to many people reading this that I actually ran out of things to say. But it is true.

Well, “ran out” probably isn’t the correct phrase. I always have things to say and opinions to spout. I just don’t have anything in particular in mind at the moment.

The weather here cooled this week, almost fall-like. It was quite a nice surprise. Unfortunately, it’s going to climb back into the 90s next week and bring the humidity right along with it. Good for my hair, not good for my comfort.

I started Weight Watchers again this week and my life finally normalized enough to get back to exercising regularly. I was pretty sore most of the week. I weigh in tomorrow. I was showing a 2-pound loss all week and now I’m showing a half-pound gain as of this morning. I had canned soup, though, yesterday, that was probably loaded with sodium. I’m crossing my fingers that if I drink enough water today, it will help the scale tomorrow. My clothes that were very loose a month ago are getting tight again, so this is needed. I’m determined to lose the last of my weight finally. I had 17 pounds to go. Now it’s 26. Another oops. I guess the last few weeks I haven’t been as good to myself as I should have been.

My daughter turned 15 on Wednesday. She can get her driving permit now, but I haven’t made it to the DMV to pick up the book so she can study. I don’t know if I’m a good enough teacher, but I’ll do my best to try. She wanted spanikopita for her birthday dinner, so on the advice of a coworker, we went to a restaurant here that is supposed to be Lebanese and Greek, and I was assured that they had spanikopita. They did not. And on top of not having it, the food was tasteless, including the pita bread. How does one manage tasteless pita bread? But I’ll give them credit: wonderful Greek dressing on the salad and the best baklava I ever tasted. I’ll go back for the baklava next time I crave it. Even Emma liked it. She insisted she wouldn’t because it has nuts. I told her I don’t like nuts, either, but I love baklava and made her taste mine. She immediately ordered some and loved it. Another convert.

Anyway, I am going to try to keep up with this a little better from now on, but no promises. And I still have to write about The Indigo Girls. They were fantastic. And kudos to them, too, for putting on a great concert and leaving politics out of it. So many musicians haven’t learned to do that.

Read Full Post »